Little Mess

One of the pictures I’m pretty proud of taking is of a little boy in a mountain village on the outskirts of my city. The village is unreachable by car, has no real roads, and is basically a mountain that has a few houses and a one room school. The only electricity in the whole village is one single solar panel for the school, provided by the government. I call the picture little mess, for obvious reasons:

Isn’t he just the sweetest mess you’ve seen?

The phrase “Little Mess” has developed a new meaning for me lately. The past couple months have been crazy stressful for me, for a number of reasons. When I was listening to an online radio station a few weeks ago, I came across a song by Francesca Battistelli called “This is the Stuff.” It really hit me.

She starts off mentioning all those little annoyances that we all face and that can just drive us up the wall sometimes if we aren’t careful. Losing your keys, losing your phone, speeding tickets, etc. But it’s the chorus that I really like:

This is the stuff that drives me crazy, this is the stuff that’s getting to me lately.
In the middle of my little mess, I forget how big I’m blessed.
This is the stuff that gets under my skin, but I gotta trust You know exactly what You’re doing.
It might not be what I would choose, but this is the stuff You use.
So break me of impatience, conquer my frustrations, I’ve got a new appreciation, it’s not the end of the world…
It might not be what I would choose, but this is the stuff You use.
(You can listen to Francesca’s song Here. :))
That’s how I feel sometimes. Everything is going wrong, and I feel like my world is just going to crumble under my feet. But sometimes, in the middle of our little messes, we just have to step back and look at how big we’re blessed. All of us, we all are so richly blessed! I’m having trouble remembering that this week, and the past few weeks. Sometimes I just need a little help remembering. But it’s so true, regardless of my own little messes.
At least, that’s the view from the fishbowl!
Blessings to all, through your little messes that aren’t quite as cute as the one up there. ^^
Goldfish Erin
Leave a Reply

