Graffiti; Eco-friendly Style

I’ve always been amazed at graffiti. Amazed? I’m not sure how good a choice of word that is. I honestly don’t like the premise of destruction. But, I don’t think anyone can argue that some of the people who do it have some seriously legit skills, no?

Remember, I’m from a small town in Missouri. The biggest problem with graffiti there is with teenagers writing their newest infatuations on the bathroom stall doors. In other words, we don’t really have a problem. Right now, on the other hand, I live in El Salvador. The place I live in is a small artsy town, often an off the road tourist hotspot, and we don’t have a problem either. But in the capital city and other big cities, it’s a whole other story. The streets are lined with it, everywhere. Completely covered. Parts are really good, too. Great quality crime, right? Some are political opinions, some are skulls and ghosts and creepy pictures, some are pictures of kids playing on playgrounds, some of flowers, some are just words. Some of it is really lame. Regardless of the quality, though, it’s on every wall.

All. Over. Everything.

Today when I was surfing the web, I came across a blog called Inspirational Geek about “Reverse Graffiti.” I was immediately intrigued. So, after reading that first article about it, I researched it. What I came across was really cool!

Reverse graffiti is the process of going over a dirty, grimy city surface, and making a design or picture in it by cleaning it. No spray paint. They use stencils and cleaners and all sorts of stuff, so it’s actually kind of good for the city. One of the things about it, is that it’s legal, even if it’s not really appreciated by the city officials. And often, when the city officials see it, they take over and decide to clean the whole area, which is even better for the city. Some companies have even taken to advertising by doing reverse graffiti! They can go clean a bridge or something with their logo, and it’s free publicity. Just look at some of the reverse art:

For cleaning, that’s pretty sweet.  For a video from “Moose,” one of the starters of the whole project, click Here. They also have a whole website about the Reverse Graffiti Project Here.

I’m not totally sure what to make of it. Is it right, since it’s “helping the environment” to an extent? Should it still be looked down on because it’s still like de-surfacing property? Is it de-surfacing at all? I know that some of it looks pretty awesome. And I guess it’s not really hurting anything… But, hey, let me know what you think!

Keep smiling!

Blessings,

GoldfishErin

Leave a Reply

